Home » Blog » Dolly Parton » Dolly Parton to Release New Album for Children: “I Believe in You”
Dolly Parton waving to the crowd at her annual Homecoming Parade.

Dolly Parton to Release New Album for Children: “I Believe in You”

After 50 years in the music business, Dolly Parton is releasing her very first children’s album! The legendary country artist made the big announcement at a press event in Nashville on August 15, 2017. Titled I Believe in You, the eagerly anticipated album will feature 13 songs written and performed by Dolly herself. Read on to learn all about Dolly’s latest record.

Watch Dolly Perform “I Believe in You”

When Dolly announced I Believe in You this Tuesday, she invited dozens of children and their parents to hear a few songs from the album. Many of Parton’s own great-nieces and great-nephews also attended the special event. You can watch Dolly unveil the album cover and perform the record’s title track in the video below:

Album Will Benefit the Imagination Library

All of the proceeds from I Believe in You will benefit Dolly Parton’s signature charity, the Imagination Library. Children enrolled in this program receive a free book in the mail each month from when they are born up to age five. The Imagination Library sends out one million books every month to kids all around the world. Literacy is a cause that is near and dear to Dolly’s heart because her father and other family members never had the chance to learn to read.

Album Release Information

I Believe in You will be available for digital download on September 29 and will come to stores on October 13, 2017. The album’s title track is inspired by The Little Engine That Could, the first book that is sent to American children enrolled in the Imagination Library. Other songs on the album include a newly recorded version of “Coat of Many Colors” and “Makin’ Fun Ain’t Funny”, a catchy anti-bullying anthem. I Believe in You will also include a spoken word recording of Dolly reading her 1996 picture book, Coat of Many Colors.

At the press event in Nashville, Dolly said that she has always written children’s songs and “it just seemed like it was the time [to make this record]”. Poking fun at herself, Dolly joked, “since I’m getting so old, I’m going back into my second childhood”.

The official track listing for I Believe in You is as follows:

1. I Believe in You
2. Coat of Many Colors (new recording)
3. Together Forever
4. I Am a Rainbow
5. I’m Here
6. A Friend Like You
7. Imagination
8. You Can Do It
9. Responsibility
10. You Gotta Be
11. Makin’ Fun Ain’t Funny
12. Chemo Hero
13. Brave Little Soldier
14. Bonus Track: Coat of Many Colors audiobook

The Imagination Express at Dollywood.Visit The Little Engine Playhouse at Dollywood

Frequent visitors to Dollywood may recognize some of I Believe in You’s songs from the theme park’s Little Engine Playhouse. Located in the Heartsong Theater, this special attraction produces 20-minute musical adaptations of popular children’s books, such as The Little Engine That Could and Coat of Many Colors. Shows at the Little Engine Playhouse are seasonal, so you may want to call the park to check if they will be running during your visit.

For the best deal on Dollywood tickets (and free cancellation), click the green box below:

Click here for tickets - save money - free cancellation.